Home Page

Serving the whole community

Safety, Learning and Respect - our three values. Thornhill Primary School is proud to be part of the West Lakes Multi-Academy Trust

Copeland Small Schools Cluster

The Copeland Small School's Cluster (CSSC) is a lively working group which has been running since 2013. The aims of the group are to support small schools in order to ensure pupils are at no disadvantage from attending a small school than they might be from attending a larger one. Moreover it is a group which supports the wider school community in terms of CPD and well-being.


As part of this network: 


  • Head Teachers meet half-termly and work to a group Improvement Plan
  • Governors meet at least termly
  • Administrators meet termly
  • There are CPD opportunities for staff- co-ordinators group/ SENCO cluster
  • Moderation takes place
  • Staff visit other schools for CPD
  • School Council representatives meet
  • Enrichment activities are offered (eg) Big Sing, Beach days



Members of the Copeland Small Schools Cluster are:

Thornhill Primary, Egremont

Arlecdon Primary, Frizington

Moresby Primary, Whitehaven

Seascale Primary

Ennerdale C of E Primary 

St Begas, Eskdale

Waberthwaite Primary

St Bridgets, C of E Primary, Parton

Montreal C of E Primary, Cleator Moor